Sargeson Prize entries opened on 1 April

Entries opened on 1 April for the 2022 Sargeson Prize and close at 11.59pm (NZST) on 30 June 2022. There is no entry fee, and entries are limited to one per writer, per division.

First offered in 2019, the Sargeson Prize is New Zealand’s richest short story prize, with a first prize of $10,000, sponsored by the University of Waikato.

Named for celebrated New Zealand writer Frank Sargeson, the Prize was conceived by writer Catherine Chidgey, who lectures in Writing Studies at the University. Chief Judge for 2022 is Dame Fiona Kidman.

For more information, see